Turkey occupies Asia Minor and a small portion of Europe. The interior consists of mountains, hills, valleys, and a high central plateau.

Turkey does not categorize its population by ethnicity, and the sizes of ethnic groups must be estimated. There are at least thirty-five non-Turkish ethnic groups, including other Turkic peoples who speak different Turkic languages, such as the Uygurs, Kirgiz, Kazaks, Uzbeks, Balkar, and Azerbaijanis.

The Turks originated in inner Asia. Their language belongs to Turkey2the Altaic family. Islamic tradition, ideology, and ritual are very important.

To find out more contact:

Embassy of the Republic of Turkey
6 Moonah Place
Yarralumla ACT 2600
+61 2 6234 0000


Leave a reply

Ocean St World Festival

The annual Ocean Street World Festival attracts well over 30,000 people and stimulating economic activity of over $1 million directly into the local economy (2015 ...