Sri Lanka

Sri Lanka

The official name of the nation is the Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka. In 1972, the national constitution discarded the name Ceylon and adopted the name of Sri Lanka. In Sinhala, the language of the majority, Sri means “blessed” and Lanka is the name of the island.

Sri Lanka is a multi-religious society. Though Buddhism is the major religion, other religions such as Hinduism, Christianity and Islam are also followed. Sri Lanka2

About 70% of the population follows Buddhism. Buddhism came to Sri Lanka from India during the reign of Ashoka in third century BC and played a significant role in the establishment of Sinhalese kingdoms since the early times, dating back to over two thousand years. Buddhism was regarded the highest ethical and philosophical expression of Sinhalese culture and civilization.


To find out more:

High Commission of the Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka
61 Hampton Circut
Yarralumla ACT 2600
+61 2 6198 3756


Leave a reply

Multicultural Youth Services (MYS)

Multicultural Youth Services (MYS) has provided services to young people of migrant and refugee backgrounds in the ACT, their families and their communities since 2002. Services ...