New Zealand

New Zealand

New Zealand is in the southwest Pacific Ocean and has three main islands—North, South, and Stewart—separated by the Cook Strait and the Foveaux Strait. Several other islands are under New Zealand’s jurisdiction.

Sixteen religious sects are represented—with the Anglican Church the largest, followed by Catholic and Presbyterian. 26% of the people have no religious affiliation. The New Zealand2Pentecostal, Buddhist, and Muslim religions have had the greatest degree of increase.

New Zealand has a well-established class society based on income. Cities have developed a “first settler” elite of “old” families claiming prestige and status and occupying the inner ring of the city.

To find out more contact:

New Zealand High Commission
Commonwealth Avenue
Canberra ACT 2600
+61 2 6270 4211


Leave a reply