The Japanese archipelago consists of four major islands and over six-thousand minor ones, and has enormous climatic variation. The four major islands are Hokkaidō, Honshū, Shikoku, and Kyūshū. The southern island group of Okinawa (the Ryūkyū Islands) is geographically, historically, and culturally distinct.

Life expectancy is the highest in the world, and the birthrate has been declining dramatically. Because of these trends, the Japan2population is projected to peak early in the twenty-first century and then shrink.

During much of Japanese history, Shintō and Buddhism have coexisted and influenced each other. Shintō is closely linked to the imperial family and a nationalist ideology.

To find out more contact:

Embassy of Japan
112 Empire Circuit
Yarralumla ACT 2600
+61 2 6273 3244


Leave a reply

Adelaide Festival Centre

Adelaide Festival Centre is the heart of the arts in South Australia. Established in 1973, it is Australia’s first capital city arts venue, hosting more ...