Diamantina Shire Council


Diamantina Shire Council2Diamantina consists of two main towns Birdsville and Bedourie, with a third town of Betoota. Our towns have four aircraft services per week on the Brisbane- Mount Isa Circuit. REX (Regional Express) provides this service.

Covering 95,000 square kilometres (twice the size of Denmark) Diamantina Shire lies within the region known as the Channel Country in far southwestern Queensland Australia.

This area consists of a network of western Queensland rivers Diamantina Shire Council3which vary greatly in dry seasons but hundreds of square kilometres are flooded after rain stretching out across the floodplains like fingers hence the name Channel Country, after rain this area is covered with wildflowers, yellow, pink and blue.

Telephone: +61 1300 794 257
Email: admin@diamantina.qld.gov.au


Leave a reply

No comments